Monday, December 12, 2011

Tammy Wine Interview





Q: First, Tammy, I want to thank you for taking the time to do this.
A: Thank you, I'm honored to do the interview.

Q: Can you start out by telling a little about yourself.
A: I was born and raised in California but have been living in Virginia for the last 13 years. I have 4 siblings, 3 brothers and 1 sister. I am a single mom, I have a 16 year old son and a 6 year old daughter.

Q: Before the gym were you an especially athletic person? Play any sports or anything?
A: I was never very athletic or played any sports. I have always loved to exercise.

Q: What initially led you into the gym?
A: I have been in and out of the gym for years but I finally got serious about it 2
years ago when I was going through a tough time in my life.

Q: Was training something you picked up fairly easy? How long before you started to see results?
A: I actually picked it up fast and my trainer even incorporated some mma into my training since I like watching it and I was surprised I caught on so fast. Probably within weeks I started to see and feel results. I felt stronger and felt better about myself.

Q: What made you decide to compete for the first time?
A: I wanted to take my training to the next level and see how far I can push myself.

Q: Is competing something your family and friends supported?
A: They all support me and always say how they admire my discipline.

Q: Was competing what you expected or did anything surprise you about it?
A: The main thing that surprised me was how supportive all the competitors are of one another.

Q: Can you share your contest history.
A:
*Oct 29th 2011 - OCB Yorton Cup (6th place - Bikini Open)
*Nov 12th 2011 - NPC Mid Atlantic Grand Prix (1st place Bikini Masters Class A)

Q: As far as body parts, what do you feel is your best one?
A: Back

Q: Do you have a part you most like to train or favorite exercise.
A: I love to do lat pulldowns.


Q: What is your normal training routine and diet like and how do you alter it for contest prep?
A: I train full body twice a week with a trainer and cardio/abs at least 3 times a week.
For contest prep I do cardio 5x twice a day, 6th day is only once. I train full body 3x a week. My diet off season is more carbs, a few cheat meals a week. I'm eating more to gain fuller muscles. During contest prep I start to eat more protein, no cheat meals, fewer carbs and I go from 1 gallon of water to eventually drinking 2.5 gallons.

Q: When someone sees your physique or hears you compete for the first time, what is the most common reaction?
A: "How do you do it." I actually get a lot of positive reactions because they are amazed at the discipline I have. I just tell them its a lifestyle change.

Q: When they see it that first time, what is the one question or comment you are most sick of hearing?
A: "How can you get on stage and be judged?"

Q: What is the biggest misconception about women who train and compete or the one thing you wish people understood?
A: That we are obsessed with looking good, coincided or we starve ourselves.

Q: What is the best and worst part of training for you?
A: The best part is seeing how far I can push my body and seeing the results in the mirror.
The worst part is the amount of training I have to do to prep for a comp can take me away from my family.

Q: Do you have any favorite competitors or any you admire?
A: I have always loved Monica Brant and have followed her since the 90's.

Q: Do you have a favorite cheat food?
A: Pizza

Q: If another woman told you she wanted to start training, what is the one piece of advice you would most want to give her?
A: Don't be afraid to hit the weights, you won't get bulky. You can't just do cardio.

Q: Do you think its becoming more common for women to use the weights as opposed to just doing cardio and things?
A: Yes more women are using weights and its becoming more common for women to compete.

Q: Outside of training, any other hobbies or activities you enjoy?
A: I love the outdoors so love to go for a bike ride or a good hike.

Q: Can you describe a typical day in the life of Tammy Wine.
A: Wake up & take supplements.
Eat breakfast & get daughter ready for school.
Head to work (8-4pm)
Eat every 2.5 hours
Workout after work
At home spend time with daughter, get her ready for bed.
Prep and pack meals for the next day
Go to bed.

Q: Describe Tammy Wine in five words.
A: Patient, non-judgmental, loyal, caring, hardworking

Q: What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you?
A: I do have my insecurities.

Q: Any set plans for the near future as far as competing or anything else?
A: I am doing the NPC Max Muscle April 28th.

Q: Are you looking for sponsors? If so how can they reach you and what are
A: they getting in Tammy Wine the athlete and competitor?
Yes I am and they can reach me at twright1975@gmail.com or thru Facebook. You are getting someone that works hard to be her best and always has time to help others and I just want to inspire others to believe in themselves and to love themselves and to know the sky is the limit!!

Q: Tammy, again, I thank you for taking the time to do this. Any last words before you go?
A: Your welcome it's been my pleasure. I just want to say no matter how tough it gets DON'T give up!!

1 comment:

  1. Sports betting system makes +$3,624 profit last week...

    Z-Code System winning bets and predictions for NFL, NBA, MLB & NHL!!!

    ReplyDelete